AccessMedicine provides access to medical textbooks, videos and self-assessment activities that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care, and support ongoing education and research.
AccessMedicine user guide
The AccessMedicine User Guide describes AccessMedicine content across the book’s library, quick reference items,
drug monographs, multimedia collection, cases, study tools and clerkship specific materials.
Go to AccessMEDICINE
AccessMedicine
This link opens in a new windowMedical textbooks videos, and self-assessment. Create your own account to bookmark favourties, create folders etc. Also available as an app.
eBooks
The eBook collection on AccessMedicine contains a broad range of titles including:
Clinician's Pocket Reference: The Scut Monkey, 11e - Leonard G. Gomella, Steven A. Haist
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2024 - Maxine A. Papadakis, Stephen J. McPhee, Michael W. Rabow, Kenneth R. McQuaid, Monica Gandhi
Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls - Steven L. Cohn
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21e, - Joseph Loscalzo, Anthony Fauci, Dennis Kasper, Stephen Hauser, Dan Longo, J. Larry Jameson
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, 2e - Sylvia C. McKean, John J. Ross, Daniel D. Dressler, Danielle B. Scheurer
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide, 4e - Scott D.C. Stern, Adam S. Cifu, Diane Altkorn
and much much more.
Multimedia
The multimedia library on AccessMedicine includes hundreds of detailed procedural videos demonstrating basic and advanced skills procedures. Areas covered include: anesthesia/nerve blocks; cardiology; critical care; emergency medicine; gastroenterology/hepatology; gynecology; neurology; obstetrics; ophthalmology; orthopedics; pediatrics; pulmonology; surgery; wound management and more.
Physical Exam is a collection of videos based on DeGowin’s Diagnostic Examination 11e.
Patient Interview Videos demonstrate how to communicate with patients in challenging and unusual situations – addressing “softer skills” and emotional intelligence in medicine.
Diagnostic and Imaging Studies includes over 30,000 images useful for diagnosis. These can be downloaded. There are also more than 70 video clips of foundational diagnostic and imaging studies in multiple specialties.
The Lecture series covers: anatomy; emergency medicine; genetics; Harrison's Quick Lectures; neurology; patient Interview; pharmacology; physiology and telehealth.
S2D: The Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast is a case-based discussion of signs, symptoms and diagnostics tests to improve clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice.
Harrison’s Podclass provides 4-8 minute discussions on key principles of internal medicine around board-style case vignettes.
Run the List Podcast 20 minute episodes guide listeners through the diagnosis, management and clinical pearls for common internal medicine problems.
The Auscultation Classroom provides an audio of an abnormal heart sound, while simultaneously watching a graphic of the intracardiac abnormality that is occurring. There is also discussion basics regarding clinical findings associated with murmurs.
3D Human Anatomy modules and tours are interactive, and guide you through the human anatomy with labelling, fading and dissection of structures. All models are searchable.
3D Human Anatomy
Quick Reference
Huppert’s Notes - find concise descriptions of common medical conditions on all internal medicine subspecialties with diagnostic and management pearls, diagrams and tables to emphasise key concepts.
Quick Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (QMDT) - concise, evidence-based point-of-care resource outlining diagnosis and treatment information for common conditions and disorders in a quick reference format.
2 Minute Medicine - reports on breaking medical literature and seminal studies, with links to original reports and articles.
Differential Diagnosis (Diagnosaurus, DDx) - differential diagnosis information for thousands of symptoms, signs, and diseases. Organised by system, disease and organ system.
Diagnostic Tests - quick reference guide to commonly used diagnostic tests including lab procedures in the clinical setting, common lab tests, diagnostic imaging tests, electrocardiography, etc
Cases
Cases provide materials for short, targeted, case-based learning. You get a patient history, systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls and references.
Study tools
Complete a random quiz or create your own for self-testing. Alternatively, complete questions based on a clerkship and residency curriculum.
