Skip to Main Content

Membership, collections & borrowing

How to get the full-text of an article: process and procedures

The Austin Library provides many ways to access full-text articles. (Full-text access gives you the whole article).

PubMed & Google Scholar: sources of full-text articles

Always access PubMed and Google Scholar via the Library website as this gives you easier access to full-text articles.

  • PubMed: view an abstract and follow the Austin Library logo button Horizontal logo for Austin Health Sciences Library to the full-text. 

If the full text is not available, you can request it using the Request full text button.

  • Google Scholar: the Find it @ Austin Health link will take you through to the full-text when it is available.

LibKey Nomad: benefits and download instructions

LibKey nomadLibKey Nomad is a browser extension that gives full-text access to articles subscribed to by Austin Health. Austin staff can add LibKey Nomad to their Google browser. 


Open Google Chrome

  1. Go to www.LibKeyNomad.com
  2. Scroll down, and then click on 'Chrome'
  3. Click 'Add to Chrome'
  4. Click 'Add extension'
  5. Click 'Turn on Sync'
  6. Select Organisation: Choose Austin Health from the drop-down menu
  7. You can then close the tab
     

Troubleshooting your access: further tips to finding the full-text article
Search the A-Z Journals list if an article link does not give you full access.
Find the journal by title, then navigate to the volume, issue and page for the article that you need. 

Request a copy through our interlibrary loan service if we do not have full access.

contact us icon Contact the Austin Health Library
email: library@austin.org.au
phone: 03 9496 5393
hours: Mon-Fri 8.30am-5.00pm

The Library space is available 24/7 to Austin Health and Mercy Heidelberg staff and students. Use your security card for access. Library staff are available Mon-Fri 8.30am-5pm except Vic. public holidays.