Library Info Guides: Membership, collections & borrowing: Library collections

Collections and resources available to Austin Library members

Online and print materials focused on evidence-based medicine make up the Austin Health Sciences Library collection.

Databases

The major biomedical and topic specific databases are available through the Austin Health Library website.

How to access databases when working offsite

Austin Health staff should use their Austin network IT credentials if prompted to login. All other Library members must use their Library barcode number and Library password.

Click the link below for our Library databases webpage, or select from the major databases and collections.

Austin Health Library databases Databases available at Austin Health Library
Reset your Austin Health Library password

Often used Austin Library online resources and clinical tools

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window Evidence-based decision-support tool that provides step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, treatment and prevention. Over 30 specialties covered with an overview, theory, diagnosis, management, follow up and further resources. Includes calculators and multimedia. Also available as an app.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Evidence-based clinical overviews, drug dosing information, calculators, clinical guidelines. Also available as an app.
ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window Designed for nurses. Evidence-based point-of-care information including conditions, assessment, treatments, drugs, planning and discharge.  
Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point-of-care tool. Point-of-care tool. Provides step-by-step guidance on how to perform clinical nursing procedures. 
PubMed This link opens in a new window More than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. 
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Clinical decision point-of-care tool. Includes information on diseases, symptoms, drugs, procedures, calculators and more. Also available as an app.

Book & journal collections in the Austin Library

The Austin Library book/eBook and journal collections are available online and in print.

Search the Library catalogue to see what is available.

The print book collection is available Monday to Friday, 8.30am to 5.00pm in the Library Book Room (to the right as you enter). We have over 6000 books which we are continually reviewing and updating. Contact the Library if you would like to arrange a loan out of these hours.

Our print journals are not for loan, but you can read, photocopy or scan an article in the Library at any time.

Historical Collection in the Austin Library

Austin Health has a rich history, beginning in 1882 with the opening of the Austin Hospital for Incurables. Our historical collection includes books, pictures, photographs and objects that tell our story. Highlights include:

Historical annual reports
Periodicals such as This Week Today (the Pulse News of the 60s!)
Historic pictures and photographs, including Austin Hospital’s original floorplan, and an original painting of Heidelberg prior to Austin’s construction.
Our collection of medical and hospital history books including A century of compassion: a history of the Austin Hospital
The colourful Liz Nettleton tapestries (commissioned for the opening of the Harold Stokes Building in the early 1980s), which tell the story of Austin's past, present and future.

Free Little Library: take a book to read, donate a book for others

A small Free Little Library of fiction books is available. Browse our Free Little Library and take a book that interests you. If you have any books you think others would enjoy, donate them next time you are in. The Free Little Library is next to the couches in the center of the Library, opposite the Library printer.

Contact the Austin Health Library
email: library@austin.org.au
phone: 03 9496 5393
hours: Mon-Fri 8.30am-5.00pm

The Library space is available 24/7 to Austin Health and Mercy Heidelberg staff and students. Use your security card for access. Library staff are available Mon-Fri 8.30am-5pm except Vic. public holidays.

Membership, collections & borrowing